XLRI win tense Jamshedpur final

The Jamshedpur game of the 2019 campus edition of Tata Crucible was underway at the steel city. A city is known for the quality of the teams that play here, they sure lived up to their reputation for sure. The match had close to 300 people playing the prelim. The prelim, hosted by Ms. Rashmi Furtado, was sure testing to the top 10 teams. The presence of quizmaster Palak Kumar, a former national champion of Tata Crucible, from NIT Jamshedpur was an added attraction.

Super Over
  • XLRI :Kumar and Ashlesh
  • NIT-J :Akash Singh and Rohit Mishra
  • XLRI :Vivek and Vijay
  • XLRI :Parminder Singh and Ritwik Ghosh
  • NIT-J :Aditya and Sankalp.K
  • NIT-J :Koustav and Jishnu Mitra
  • NIT-J :Ritu Raj and Ashutosh Anshu
  • XLRI :Ashwin Kumar and Apoorv Kumar
  • XLRI :Sahil Gupta and Dehit Garoga
  • NIT-J :Sourabh Kumar and Sourabh Kumar
  • XLRI :Vivek and Vijay
  • XLRI :Parminder Singh and Ritwik Ghosh
Jamshedpur Winners 2019

Champions, XLRI - Sahil Gupta and Dehit Garoga

The final hosted by prolific quizmaster, Pickbrain was swift and tense. In the early overs, most teams went ahead but with caution and low picks on the score choice. It even prompted a comment from the seasoned host that the city should know how to play big sixes given that Dhoni practised his big hits here.

As the quiz kept moving one ball at a time, the tension mounted as XLRI with Sahil and Dehit established a slender lead over the NIT teams which kept bouncing back. The other XLRI team of Ashwin and Apoorv also did well but could not find one or two more answers to get to the lead.

The NIT team of Sourabh and Sourabh were at it till the final questions along with the other NIT team of Rituraj and Ashutosh. It was, however, a cautious XLRI duo of Sahil and Dehit who held their own to win on the final ball and move to the zonal at Kolkata.

The chief guest Mr. Amitava Bakshi, Chief Procurement Officer, Tata Steel spoke of how there is so much learning outside the classroom, while also advising the students to be prudent on what information to pick and what to leave given the abundance of information available in the digital era.

Jamshedpur Runners 2019

Runner Up, NIT J - Sourabh Kumar and Sourabh Kumar

  • WINNER : XLRI - Sahil Gupta and Dehit Garoga
  • RUNNER UP : NIT J - Sourabh Kumar and Sourabh Kumar