IIMK's grit prevails at Calicut

The lovely IIM campus in the city played host to this year’s edition of Tata Crucible at Calicut. Pickbrain got down to business from the word go and the prelim started the quiz with a crisp but tough set of 20 questions and that led to the finalists.

  • Holy Cross :Haridev and Archit Kamath
  • IIM Kozhikode :Ms. Anji Aisham Sinha and Ashrav Gupta
  • Govt. Victoria College Pallakad :Abdul Vahid and Jameer
  • Sir Syed College :Ms. Sruthi Sudhakar and Anand TT
  • IIM Kozhikode :Rajat Srivastava and Utkarsh Shankar
  • Nirmala Giri :Zahir A. and Aswin Shaj
Calicut  Winners 2018

Champions, IIM Kozhikode - Ms. Anji Aisham Sinha and Ashrav Gupta

The final began with an observation from the seasoned quizmaster that it was interesting to see new colleges emerge in the final each year, which was good for the city.

The final was an absolutely riveting one with the two IIM teams taking an initial lead and playing with great confidence. The defending champions Abdul and Jammer did not get their grip on the quiz early on but as the quiz progressed they started progressing as well. Syed College also did well but could not sustain the momentum.

Mid way into the quiz team IIM with Anji and Ashrav crossed Rajat and Utkarsh and from here it was the strategy that the IIM team deployed by out-thinking the teams on gutsy half chances that got them to the finish line just ahead of the others, who perhaps knew many answers but could not get the buzzer to go down in time.

On the final question Abdul and Jameer who missed out on the title got past the IIM team of Rajat and Utkash to clinch the runner up title this time. Dr. Raju, the Dean Administration, IIM-K, gave away the prizes.

Calicut Runners 2018

Runner Up, Govt. Victoria College Pallakad - Abdul Vahid and Jameer

  • WINNER : IIM Kozhikode - Ms. Anji Aisham Sinha and Ashrav Gupta
  • RUNNER UP : Govt. Victoria College Pallakad - Abdul Vahid and Jameer